Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker – Take music with you everywhere, for everyone! :)

I am familiar with the boom 2 already and i would say this is a refined version with the added benefit of alexa voice control.

Whilst the sound and volume are really good, it constantly disconnects from bluetooth and no matter what ive tried to do, i cant get it to keep a sustained connection. Here are the specifications for the Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker:

  • Make sure this fits
    by entering your model number.
  • Ultimate Sound: Ultimate Ears most powerful speaker with 360 degrees intensely rich sound, elegant clarity and heart-pounding bass; with up to 12 hours of battery, it brings your music to life wherever you take it
  • With Amazon Alexa hands-free voice control: Just ask Alexa to blast tunes from Amazon music*, Spotify or* TuneIn, change tracks, check the weather or try any of Alexa’s skills
  • Wi-Fi and Bluetooth enabled: Use the Alexa voice service at home or on the go whenever connected to Wi-Fi or a mobile hotspot or stream music via Bluetooth from your phone
  • Waterproof and virtually indestructible: Never worry about going easy on it, your music will always be on point; the speaker is IP67 rated and can be immersed in water up to 1 m for 30 minutes
  • Frequency range: 90 Hz – 20 kHz; update your speaker with the Ultimate Ears app as new features become available

Great speaker lovely deep bass sound guality great , i’ve been using it in the garden for several weeks. I love it alexa players all the music i want. I wanted a rugged speaker as we have two large dog ,chances of it being knocked over are high ,plus we have a lot of water in the garden with 2 ponds and a large paddling pool for the dogs to play in. So loving the fact it’s waterproof.

The main concern people have with this speaker is the ultimate ears app, which is not very good. However you only need to use the app for initial setup, which i found to be quick and straightforward. After that you can control the alexa functions using amazon’s alexa app. This allows you to learn about new skills, change your preferences, and so on. I use amazon prime music, so found it easy to play stuff from my library. Once the speaker is set up, alexa works very well on this. I find the microphone picks up male voices better than female, and you have to yell a bit if you want it to hear you while it is playing music. But as it learns your voice, it gets better. It responds to commands quite quickly, and i have had no problems with the software, or the wifi connectivity. The speaker itself is excellent- which is just as well considering the price.

Reviews from purchasers :

  • Love it. Great size and sound quality is good
  • Sounds great – Wifi and/or Alexa isn’t
  • Sounds great, solidly built

This is perhaps one of the best portable speakers i’ve used in terms of build quality, connectivity and sound quality (for its size). It features lots of connectivity options including bluetooth and wi-fi. The built-in amazon alexa works very well, although it’s very slightly slower at responding compared to amazon’s own alexa speakers – this is the speaker that actually introduced me to the amazing world of alexa and the sole reason i now have 1 echo spot and 3 echo dots. I initially disregarded voice control as a gimmick but didn’t realise how useful it would especially for home automation such as controlling lights with lightwave rf and controlling the heating with tado. Sound quality is excellent for the size of the speaker. It’s crisp and clear with a decent amount of bass (just don’t expect it to shake anything). It can go extremely loud without any distortion, outperforming every speaker i’ve tried (of a similar size). This isn’t the most lightweight speaker you’ll find but the build quality is exceptional and seems like it will withstand heavy abuse. It’s also completely waterproof so it’s perfect for using in the shower, bath, hot tub or pool. Battery life is very good at 12 hours – long enough to not have to worry about charging it.

At the standard price, this is expensive; but bought at a discount then is a very good buy. Sound quality & volume is excellent, and omnidirectional, so ideal for outdoor use. Being waterproof is also a bonusyou need to be in the alexa camp to make the most of it though, although it can be used as a normal bluetooth speaker if notthe alexa experience is not quite up to echo standard, but acceptable; and, given a strong wi-fi signal, can work in the some distance away from the houseif you don’t want to fiddle with charging the speaker with a micro usb socket (hidden beneath the rubber base plug), i would recommend the optional charging dock; but it is way too expensive at £35, (and really should be included as standard. )shop around – currys had a half price offer on recently.

Setup was great if not perfectly straightforward. However on looking closer the ue blast shipped without a bottom cap so the micro usb port is exposed to water which means it won’t be fully waterproof. This is seriously dissapointing as i was just starting to enjoy using alexa with spotify but now i’m going to have to return the device.

Very versatile and excellent sound. Very high quality for the price.

I bought this speaker after having enjoyed my previous boom, and the sound quality is even better. So far my speaker has worked perfectly and was very easy to set up.

Absolutely brilliant, bought as a gift for my wife.

Tried the speaker for a few days, doesn’t live up to expectations, battery life is short, sound quality is average, was expecting better product. Will try to return it and maybe go for a different brand.

I prefer the wonderboom – this one cuts out a lot.

Very nice and neat, love the fact i don’t need my phone around the house to play music any more. Although wish it had a sim car to use data when i was out and about but never mind. Excellant speaker for only £99.

Got this for teenager for christmas. Absolutely loves it, purchased amazon prime also so she can use prime music through the ultimate ears blast. Cannot keep her off it, music playing all the time, even in bathroom as it’s waterproof. Really sturdy and strong looking. Sound is amazing and cannot believe how loud it will go. Had no issues in setting up. Did lots of research before buying this.

Just ask for a selection from an artist or era and it plays as well as repeating your favourites. It goes around the house with me and we now have a carrier so we can take it on holiday with us.

I like the sound quality and the fact it fills a room. I purchased this for being a good quality bluetooth speaker with added amazon alexa and on that basis its great. It can connect to the amazon tv thingy and easily connects to my mobile phone (i have downloaded the devices app think that helps a lot). The only negative for me is its in the kitchen and sometimes it seems to have difficulty reaching the house wifi signal where our mobile phones or other devices have no problem in the same spot. However i know where to position it so this is not an issue, but it might be for some. My annoyance with amazon is that its alexa software should connect to a spotify free account and not just a paid account. However alexa does connect to tunein radio which is great.

If you like alexa you will love this speaker. I got already alexa at home but the fact that this speaker has alexa built in is just amazing, you can now bring alexa on holidays with you without limits considering that the speaker is powered by battery and also waterproof. You will never need your phone again to play music cause the speaker will connect straight to the wifi and play the music from your favorite music provider such as spotify. (no more music interruption if somebody call you on your phone while music is playing). I’ve also notice since i’ve purchased the device that they integrated new funcions in the system such as spotify music and they also fixed some small bugs, this means that they are always improving the software. Really like this speakerno blast no party.

I am rating this four stars because of sound quality. The size and weight are what i expected. The volume can go up really high. The quality and depth of sound is adequate and it’ll be fine for the holidays we have this year, in a cottage, on the beach, etc. But it’s far from hi fidelity. The alexa support is actually quite good and did what i expected (i also have echo products) so i’m not sure what other reviewers expected. Lovely product design and easy to use, hold, carry around, and charge.

Great life proof bluetooth speaker with decent battery life. Sounds amazing and goes very loud.

Good sound quality and work really good whit i builded alexa.

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control - Graphite Black
Rating
3.0 of 5 stars, based on 109 reviews
Price
£169.99

One thought on “Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker – Take music with you everywhere, for everyone! :)

  1. Returned speaker as the alexa support is just not there, better off with a echo dot and separate bluetooth speaker. Spotify commands don’t work as of 22 february 2018 via alexa,i really liked the idea of having a battery powered alexa speaker but the software needs updating as it’s a lite version of alexa without full supportsound wise it’s great just the same as a boom but due to the price i would recommend a boom 2.
    • Returned speaker as the alexa support is just not there, better off with a echo dot and separate bluetooth speaker. Spotify commands don’t work as of 22 february 2018 via alexa,i really liked the idea of having a battery powered alexa speaker but the software needs updating as it’s a lite version of alexa without full supportsound wise it’s great just the same as a boom but due to the price i would recommend a boom 2.
  2. My nephew took one of these speakers (without alexa) on holiday with us – and we were all blown away with the sound around the pool. I bought this one with alexa to use in the bathroom so i could skip through songs and change playlists without having to touch it while showering or in bath. When it connects with wifi, so i’m guessing anything you ask alexa to do – it constantly drops playback – sometimes it will resume – almost as though it is buffering. Sometimes it wont – it just stops like it forget what it was doing. This is the same with spotify, or tunein radio stations. The help says move your router – isolate it from electrical interference – but i must have 20 things in this house using the wifi – and this is the only thing that has connection problems. Anyway using through bluetooth seems to be fine – and it was less than £100 in the sale – so i am keeping it – hopefully ue will do something with firmware or software and sort it out.
    • My nephew took one of these speakers (without alexa) on holiday with us – and we were all blown away with the sound around the pool. I bought this one with alexa to use in the bathroom so i could skip through songs and change playlists without having to touch it while showering or in bath. When it connects with wifi, so i’m guessing anything you ask alexa to do – it constantly drops playback – sometimes it will resume – almost as though it is buffering. Sometimes it wont – it just stops like it forget what it was doing. This is the same with spotify, or tunein radio stations. The help says move your router – isolate it from electrical interference – but i must have 20 things in this house using the wifi – and this is the only thing that has connection problems. Anyway using through bluetooth seems to be fine – and it was less than £100 in the sale – so i am keeping it – hopefully ue will do something with firmware or software and sort it out.
  3. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    Bought this speaker in jan 2018 with the promise that a firmware upgrade would be available later in the year to permit party mode/pairing of speakers. Here we are in dec 2018 and i am reliably informed by ue that it’s still not possible and there are now no plans to implement. Would have bought more but will switch loyalty now. Today there are numerous options that support alexa and pairing, sound as good for same price and don’t have the poor quality power lead with a small inaccessible micro usb socket that’s underneath speaker meaning it cannot be charged standing up. My lead has failed at speaker end. All in all a disappointing experience. Pity as otherwise a neat product that really seemed ahead of the game 12 months ago.
  4. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    Bought this speaker in jan 2018 with the promise that a firmware upgrade would be available later in the year to permit party mode/pairing of speakers. Here we are in dec 2018 and i am reliably informed by ue that it’s still not possible and there are now no plans to implement. Would have bought more but will switch loyalty now. Today there are numerous options that support alexa and pairing, sound as good for same price and don’t have the poor quality power lead with a small inaccessible micro usb socket that’s underneath speaker meaning it cannot be charged standing up. My lead has failed at speaker end. All in all a disappointing experience. Pity as otherwise a neat product that really seemed ahead of the game 12 months ago.
  5. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    I have the boom2 which sounds ok for what it is. It would be great if you could use the charge up with the boom2, but unfortunately it’s not compatible. I didn’t want to keep plugging the boom2 in for charging, so thought the blast and a charge up would do the trick. First up, it doesn’t sound a patch on the boom2. Even with the eq customised it sounds really weak. If you push the volume a bit it sounds harsh. When i did a comparison with each unit in the same place, using the same source music, the boom2 sounded much better. The other thing that has prompted the 2 stars from me is the “light show” on the the unit and the charge up. If you want to use it in the bedroom as a bedside speaker (as we do), then you’ll need to cover up the pulsing bright white light on the base and the glow from the on/off button which is accompanied by the red “alexa off” glow on what is also the bluetooth pairing button. You cant turn any of these off.
    • I have the boom2 which sounds ok for what it is. It would be great if you could use the charge up with the boom2, but unfortunately it’s not compatible. I didn’t want to keep plugging the boom2 in for charging, so thought the blast and a charge up would do the trick. First up, it doesn’t sound a patch on the boom2. Even with the eq customised it sounds really weak. If you push the volume a bit it sounds harsh. When i did a comparison with each unit in the same place, using the same source music, the boom2 sounded much better. The other thing that has prompted the 2 stars from me is the “light show” on the the unit and the charge up. If you want to use it in the bedroom as a bedside speaker (as we do), then you’ll need to cover up the pulsing bright white light on the base and the glow from the on/off button which is accompanied by the red “alexa off” glow on what is also the bluetooth pairing button. You cant turn any of these off.
      • 4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent speaker - Alexa and associated s/w a little disappointing on said:
        I bought this primarily to provide good quality sound for my mobile devices (phone and tablet). For this task, it works very well and sound quality is great. However, documentation for connecting to wifi was not brilliant and it took some time to resolve. I tried using ipad, iphone, laptop running ubuntu and finally had to reboot an old laptop running win 7 before the s/w worked. The original unit stopped working after a few days. It kept turning itself off despite being housed on the charging unit – so therefore not an obvious loss of power. This was resolved by amazon’s excellent returns system. A new speaker arrived 2 days after i had an online chat with amazon customer services. ***** for amazon cust servsall seems ok now apart from alexa has a tendency to drop the wifi connection when playing direct through the internet. I resolve this by connecting via tablet or phone rather than directly using alexa.
  6. I bought this primarily to provide good quality sound for my mobile devices (phone and tablet). For this task, it works very well and sound quality is great. However, documentation for connecting to wifi was not brilliant and it took some time to resolve. I tried using ipad, iphone, laptop running ubuntu and finally had to reboot an old laptop running win 7 before the s/w worked. The original unit stopped working after a few days. It kept turning itself off despite being housed on the charging unit – so therefore not an obvious loss of power. This was resolved by amazon’s excellent returns system. A new speaker arrived 2 days after i had an online chat with amazon customer services. ***** for amazon cust servsall seems ok now apart from alexa has a tendency to drop the wifi connection when playing direct through the internet. I resolve this by connecting via tablet or phone rather than directly using alexa.
  7. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    Tl;dr: i guess that for a portable speaker to carry with you in the park while exercise is ok. But for a living room, alexa enabled, device, don’t buy it. I have an echo dot so i know how is to interact with a decent alexa enabled device. This device isn’t like that. Even if you are playing music on the same speaker, alexa will wake up from hearing that song. If you are watching a movie, alexa will wake up from random words. Connectivity wise is just garbage. It loses the connection, it doesn’t connect to previous connected device unless you choose reconnect again. The default settings are giving a mediocre sound quality on both music and movies. If you choose a more applicable preset from the menu it gets better, but i don’t want to change presets every time.
  8. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    Tl;dr: i guess that for a portable speaker to carry with you in the park while exercise is ok. But for a living room, alexa enabled, device, don’t buy it. I have an echo dot so i know how is to interact with a decent alexa enabled device. This device isn’t like that. Even if you are playing music on the same speaker, alexa will wake up from hearing that song. If you are watching a movie, alexa will wake up from random words. Connectivity wise is just garbage. It loses the connection, it doesn’t connect to previous connected device unless you choose reconnect again. The default settings are giving a mediocre sound quality on both music and movies. If you choose a more applicable preset from the menu it gets better, but i don’t want to change presets every time.
  9. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    Bought to “extend” my dot into the garden. I also have 2 echoes in the house. Problems were 1) bluetooth would drop out unrecoverably, 2) audio latency in the blast meant you could not stream music to all devices, as it would be about half a sec behind the echoes. Have returned the blast and am now looking for a battery driven speaker dock for the dot or a battery dock for one of the echoes.
  10. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    Bought to “extend” my dot into the garden. I also have 2 echoes in the house. Problems were 1) bluetooth would drop out unrecoverably, 2) audio latency in the blast meant you could not stream music to all devices, as it would be about half a sec behind the echoes. Have returned the blast and am now looking for a battery driven speaker dock for the dot or a battery dock for one of the echoes.
  11. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    Bought a ue blast as was reduced on amazon prime day and liked how could stream spotify onto it without having to use phone or tablet so great to use in garden and generally round the house without having to mess around with plugging it in as rechargeable. Unfortunately the first one i had lasted only about a week before it started to play up – won’t connect to wi-fi and kept dropping out on bluetooth before it finally would only power up for brief time before shutting off again. Amazon were great – organised replacement that arrived next day. Unfortunately the replacement lasted less than a day before it died completely, won’t power up even when plugged into the charger so amazon are refunding it now which is a shame. Considering the rest of logitech’s build quality – i have g series keyboard and mouse now as well as harmony remote and well as in the past and all have been excellent in terms of reliability it’s a shame that their ultimate ears stuff doesn’t seem to be able to last. Will have to look into some other portable speaker instead.
    • Bought a ue blast as was reduced on amazon prime day and liked how could stream spotify onto it without having to use phone or tablet so great to use in garden and generally round the house without having to mess around with plugging it in as rechargeable. Unfortunately the first one i had lasted only about a week before it started to play up – won’t connect to wi-fi and kept dropping out on bluetooth before it finally would only power up for brief time before shutting off again. Amazon were great – organised replacement that arrived next day. Unfortunately the replacement lasted less than a day before it died completely, won’t power up even when plugged into the charger so amazon are refunding it now which is a shame. Considering the rest of logitech’s build quality – i have g series keyboard and mouse now as well as harmony remote and well as in the past and all have been excellent in terms of reliability it’s a shame that their ultimate ears stuff doesn’t seem to be able to last. Will have to look into some other portable speaker instead.
      • I made the mistake of buying two of these, because i thought i was getting a nice looking speaker with solid alexa integration, but ultimate ears only got the first part right. Alexa keeps cutting out, with songs stopping mid-play. And once the music is playing, if you want to stop it, you more or less have to walk over to the device and shout at it. I have an echo dot so it is easy to compare against – the echo dot is an okay speaker with (as you can might expect) great alexa integration. If i could return my ue speakers i would.
  12. This review is from : Ultimate Ears Blast Bluetooth Speaker, Portable Wi-Fi/Loud Waterproof Wireless Speaker with Amazon Alexa Voice Control – Graphite Black

    I made the mistake of buying two of these, because i thought i was getting a nice looking speaker with solid alexa integration, but ultimate ears only got the first part right. Alexa keeps cutting out, with songs stopping mid-play. And once the music is playing, if you want to stop it, you more or less have to walk over to the device and shout at it. I have an echo dot so it is easy to compare against – the echo dot is an okay speaker with (as you can might expect) great alexa integration. If i could return my ue speakers i would.
    • Missing all the good features from the main like like turning on from mobile app. Not suitable protective cases available. Wish i had gobe for ue megaboom instead.
      • Missing all the good features from the main like like turning on from mobile app. Not suitable protective cases available. Wish i had gobe for ue megaboom instead.

Comments are closed.